What`s the Legal Age to Get Married in Illinois
With everything else to worry about when it comes to planning a wedding, the technical requirements of marriage and the actual marriage certificate seem pretty far down the list. At the county clerk`s office, you must complete and sign an application for a marriage certificate and present identification such as a driver`s license, passport or birth certificate. If you or your fiancé have divorced in the last six months, you will need a certified copy of the divorce decree. Marriage license fees can range from $30 to $60, depending on the country you`re in, and there`s a 24-hour wait to get married. Understanding the legal processes can be confusing for many people, but you need a marriage certificate to get married in Illinois. The application process is relatively simple and we are here to guide you step by step so that you have everything you need to get married. Residency requirements: You do not need to be a resident of the state of Illinois to get married. Blood tests: Many states have required blood tests in marriage license applications to prevent transmission of STDs. However, this is not the case in Illinois. So if you`re afraid of needles, you don`t have to worry about this obstacle if you get married in Illinois. Amid the hustle and bustle of wedding planning, it can be easy to forget that marriage is a legal contract between you and your partner.
That`s why we`re here to make sure your union is legally binding and that everything runs as smoothly as possible. Depending on where you are getting married, you may need to meet different legal requirements for the marriage to be valid. Marriage laws vary from state to state, and if you`re not familiar with local requirements, you may find yourself in hot water. Since timing and preparation are so important for most weddings, it`s important to make sure you`re qualified under the government. Information on how to obtain a license to marry in the State of Illinois. The legal age of marriage is 18, the minimum age is 16 with consent. No blood test or 24-hour wait. Puerto Rico is a territory of the United States and its inhabitants are U.S. citizens. In Puerto Rico, the general age of marriage is 21, as that is the age of majority.
The general age of marriage in Puerto Rico is 21 or 18 with parental consent.  In Guam, the general age is 18, but 16-year-olds may marry with the consent of at least one parent or guardian.  In American Samoa, the age of marriage has been 18 for both sexes since September 2018. Previously, the age of marriage for women was 14.  American Samoa does not allow marriages with minors. In the District of Columbia, the general age is 18, but 16-year-olds may marry with exceptions.  In the United States. Virgin Islands The age of marriage is 14 for women and 16 for men.  In the Northern Mariana Islands, men must be 18 to marry, while women can marry at 16 with parental consent.  Since Illinois has a 24-hour waiting period for marriage licenses, this means that you must wait at least one day after you apply before you can legally marry. In some counties, you can start the application process online, but you`ll still need to go to the physical office to complete the application. Marriage certificate: For your marriage to be legally binding, you must both apply for a marriage certificate.
Without this document, you will not be formally married in the eyes of the law. In Illinois, you`ll need to contact the local clerk of the county where you`re getting married to get a valid license (we`ll discuss the process in more detail later). Once your marriage is consummated and your license signed and filed with the county official, you will receive a marriage certificate as proof of your marriage. Expiration dates: Your marriage certificate gives you legal consent to the marriage, but that permission has an expiration date. In the case of Illinois marriage licenses, you have 60 days from receiving the license to say your “I do” – otherwise the license will no longer be valid. Once you`ve chosen a date for your wedding, you can plan a trip to the county clerk`s office, with plenty of time to walk down the aisle. Apply for your marriage certificate: Pay the marriage licence fee and complete the application. Certain basic information such as names, addresses and date of birth as well as the names and addresses of your parents or guardians are requested. If one of you has already been married, now is the time to reveal it. In Massachusetts, the general age of marriage is 18, but minors can be married with judicial approval.
Unlike many other states, child marriage in Massachusetts does not automatically emancipate the minor or increase his or her legal rights beyond allowing the minor to consent to certain medical treatments.  Illinois` waiting period for marriage licenses is 24 hours, so you can get married once that time is up. If you feel like you have question after question when it comes to getting married, you`re not alone. This is an important life event, so it makes sense that you want to make sure your puncture is and cross your Ts. Wait: Good things come to everyone who waits, and it`s no different. You must wait at least 24 hours after your application to get married. No, but you can apply for a marriage certificate for free if you are already in a registered partnership. However, you will be recognized as a married couple on the day of your marriage certificate, not on the date you entered into the registered partnership. Illinois regulations that describe how 16- and 17-year-olds can be married are as follows: Couples marrying in Kane County must obtain a marriage license from the Kane County Clerk`s Office.