Legal Age for Working in California
Minor work permits issued during a school year expire five days after the start of the next school year and must be renewed, even if they work for the same employer. For example, if a high school student gets a job in April and her class starts on September 5, the work permit received in April will expire on September 10 unless she renews it. Minors must receive at least the minimum wage and applicable overtime rates, and must be given all meal and rest breaks required by law. High school graduates or equivalent high school graduates must be paid proportionately to adults if they perform the same quantity, quality and classification of work. This includes wage rates above the minimum wage. Young people aged 16 and 17 are also prohibited from working for obscene, indecent or immoral purposes, exhibitions or practices. Labor Code CA 1308(a)(3) California law prohibits minors under the age of 16 from working: California child labor laws prohibit youth 15 and under from working as messengers for telegraph, telephone, or courier companies. It also prohibits youth 15 and under from working for the U.S. government while operating a telegraph, telephone, or courier service to distribute, transmit, or deliver goods or messages in cities with populations of more than 15,000. Any 16 or 17 year old who performs the messenger work described above is only allowed to work after 6:00 a.m. and before 9:00 p.m. on a given day.
Labour Code CA 1297 Of these jobs, only those in the entertainment industry require a work permit. In general, the legal age to work in California is 14. However, minors between the ages of 14 and 17 face significant restrictions on when and where they can work and how many hours they can work per week. Most need their parents` permission to work. Many minors will still have to go to school. The rules for minors in entertainment professions may be different. Restrictions on night work set limits on the time at which a minor can legally work. While some states require working minors to provide an age certification document to their employers, minors who want to work in California are not required.
Employers are expected to identify the minors they employ and ensure that their employment complies with all federal and state child labor restrictions. California`s Child Labor Protection prohibits 14- and 15-year-olds from working in multiple hazardous occupations or similar types of work. The prohibitions include: To work in California, employees and employers must complete and submit an authorization form issued by the California Department of Education entitled “Statement of Intent to Employ a Minor and Work Permit Application.” These forms, which are based on work permit requirements, can be requested and submitted to designated individuals authorized to issue employment and work permits (see below). CA Education Code 49162 Before the Notice of Employment and Intent to Work can be submitted, it must be signed by the parent or guardian of the youth the employer wishes to hire. Education Code CA 49163 At the federal level, child labor is regulated by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Minors and students may also be subject to special labor regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and break times during work, etc. The parents or guardians of a minor must sign the form, which must be completed by the minor and the potential employer. Once the signed form is returned to the school, the work permit is issued by school officials. Employers must have a work permit from the California Division of Labor Standards.
While 12- and 13-year-olds can mow lawns, deliver newspapers and babysit, California labor laws allow job seekers ages 14 to 17 to find legal employment. The State also establishes conditions for the age and level of education that minors must have in order to pursue certain types of work. Is there a specific weight and height I need to have if I want to work in California at 14? I am 14 years old and I want to become a nail technician, can I do it legally? Federal law prohibits minors under the age of 18 from working in many dangerous and dangerous occupations, including jobs: the employer must also keep a copy of the work permit and work in the workplace at all times. These permits must be made available to the following personnel for inspection: Since the entertainment industry is a major employer in the state, California has specific regulations for minors working in this sector. These apply to children who appear in television shows or movies, make recordings or work as models for advertising or other media. In general, minors who have not completed high school must have a work permit.1 They can apply for one at their school. The form is from the California Department of Education. It is entitled “Declaration of Intent to Hire Minors and Apply for a Work Permit”.
It must usually be signed by a parent or guardian. The permit is issued to the minor by school officials in the local school district. The permit states that children between the ages of 15 days and 18 who work in the entertainment industry must have a work permit for entertainment. These are valid for six months and are issued by the Labour Standards Enforcement Division. There is also a temporary work permit for minors in California, valid for 10 days. In California, minors can obtain an employment certificate from the California Department of Labor and their school, usually by contacting a school counselor or administrator. A work certificate is issued if the minor meets all the State`s employment criteria. California`s child labor laws allow youth 14 years of age and older to work in agricultural occupations that are otherwise prohibited by federal regulations if the following conditions are met: In the event of a conflict between California law and federal law, the protective law applies. Sixteen and 17-year-olds can work four hours on school days and eight hours on days off or on days before a day off.
Children under one month old need a letter from a pediatrician certifying that they are healthy enough to work, and all children younger or younger also need documents, which may include a passport, birth certificate, or baptismal certificate. California child labor laws define a minor as anyone under the age of 18 required to attend school under California Education Act, as well as any child under the age of six. This includes people who are not required to attend school under California`s compulsory education laws simply because they are not residents. Labor Code CA 1286(c) Except in certain circumstances defined by law and summarized in the Child Labor Act brochure, all minors under the age of 18 employed in the State of California must have a work permit. California`s minimum wage and overtime rules require employers to provide meal and rest breaks to all employees, including all minors, during their working hours. For more information, visit our California Dining and Rest Information page. In addition, there are also limited professions. Minors can work in these roles, but only if certain conditions are met. For example, minors in California may work in parcel stores that sell alcohol for off-site consumption, but only if they are under the constant supervision of someone over the age of 21.16 Teens ages 14 and 15 can enroll in an internship training program and get permission to work full-time if: Employers must also comply with the rules, how long minors are allowed to work, and when minors are required to attend school.33 Minors can find work permit applications on the websites of the California Department of Industrial Relations or Department of Education. 16- and 17-year-olds who are regularly employed but do not have a high school diploma must attend the training school for at least 4 hours per week. If they are not regularly employed, they must attend the training school at least 15 hours per week. Once an employer agrees to hire a minor, the minor usually receives from their school a form from the Ministry of Education entitled “Letter of Intent to Hire Minors and Application for a Work Permit”.
The form must be completed by the minor and the employer and signed by the minor`s parents or guardians and the employer. After returning the completed and signed form to the school, school officials can issue the work permit. Usually, your school has one available on their website. If not, talk to your manager or another staff member. A work permit may be revoked if the work is harmful to the minor`s health or education or if the work permit requirements are not met.3 During school hours, 14- and 15-year-olds may work 3 hours a day, up to a maximum of 18 hours per week. You can also work 8 hours a day when the school is not in session, no more than 40 hours a week. California`s child labor laws prohibit employers from employing 16- and 17-year-olds in occupations deemed particularly hazardous to the employment of 16- and 17-year-olds by the federal government in the Code of Federal Regulations (29 CFR 570.51-570.68), including: What kind of employment can minors do? To prevent young people from being placed in hazardous work environments, federal law restricts the types of jobs available to minors.