La Dmv Statement of Non Use
The system of vehicle registration suspensions and insurance programs provides up-to-date requirements for suspension and recovery requirements for vehicle registration insurance, including options to file reinsertion fees, submit insurance information, and submit/withdraw an affidavit of non-use (ANU). No. Reinstatement fees and proof of insurance must be submitted to the Vehicle Registration Financial Responsibility Program to reinstate registration. The registration of the vehicle is suspended until proof of financial responsibility and reintegration costs is presented. If the vehicle is driven or parked on a California road, road, or highway during the suspension of registration, you are subject to citation. If a vehicle whose registration is suspended is transferred to a new owner, the refit fee is waived. The new owner must provide proof of insurance within 30 days of the issuance of a new registration card. Purchase adequate insurance and ask your insurance agent to update your insurance information on the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB) website www.driveinsured.com or contact the IIDB toll-free call center (866) 891-0665 for more information. Once proof of insurance is received by IIDB, your registration document should be able to be put back into service the next business day. The reintegration fee for a suspended registration is $30.00.
Before driving this vehicle on New Mexico roads, you must purchase appropriate insurance and ask your insurance agent to update your insurance information on the program website www.driveinsured.com or contact the IIDB Call Center toll-free (866) 891-0665 for more information. Once your insurance information is updated, your vehicle must be included in the DTA and identified as insured. If you do not take action against the suspension letter you receive from IIDB and your vehicle registration is suspended, you must purchase insurance, have it reported to IIDB and reinstate your vehicle`s registration. The reintegration fee for a suspended registration is $30.00. If your vehicle is currently registered and you choose not to use it, you must purchase insurance or notify DMV that you will not use it by completing an affidavit of non-use (REG 5090). Upon receipt of a REG 5090, DMV will cancel the registration. The vehicle may not be driven or parked on California roads, roads or highways until proof of insurance is received by the department. A reinstatement fee is not due if the registration is cancelled. Once proof of insurance is received electronically through the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database, your vehicle`s registration should be eligible again the next business day.
Please wait at least 24 hours after your insurance agent has updated the database before contacting an MVD branch to reinstate your vehicle registration. The reintegration fee for a suspended registration is $30.00. You must provide proof of financial responsibility and pay a $14 reinsertion fee. This process can be completed by visiting the Registration Suspensions and Insurance Program page, submitting insurance and payment to the Vehicle Registration Financial Responsibility Program, or using the automated voice system at 1-800-777-0133. Yes. A vehicle whose registration is suspended may not be extended until the suspension is lifted. You can pay the registration fee before the expiry date to avoid late penalties; However, the badge and registration will not be issued until the refit fee and proof of insurance have been submitted to the Financial Responsibility Program for Vehicle Registration. Private vehicles covered by a commercial or commercial policy may not be identified as commercially insured. If you receive a notice, you must send a copy of your insurance card or policy statement page to the Financial Responsibility Program for Vehicle Registration before the effective date specified in the notice.
If you drive the vehicle and it is not insured, you are subject to confiscation of the license plate and a quote without proof of insurance. Make sure that if you are driving the vehicle in New Mexico, you have proof of automobile liability insurance in your possession. Accepted documents can be found on the Financial Accountability page. If new insurance information is received by DMV within 45 days of cancellation of the first policy, no notification will be sent. Personal use: Your insurance company must provide your insurance information to DMV within 30 days of issuing a registration document for a newly purchased vehicle (original or transfer). The vehicle suspension and registration assurance system and the automated voice system are electronic cheques and credit/ATM/debit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover cards. When you pay by mail, the Vehicle Registration Financial Responsibility Program accepts cheques, money orders and cashier`s cheques. Please do not send cash. Proof of insurance you must bring to MVD when registering your vehicle: If you currently have insurance for the vehicles listed on the mandatory auto insurance review letter, you should: Your vehicle will then be identified as insured in the database for the duration of your policy. You must file a non-use/foreign insurance affidavit each time you renew this policy with a non-state insurer as long as your vehicle`s registration remains in New Mexico. Please click on the link below to obtain an electronic version of the Affidavit of Non-Use/Out of State Insurance. You can print this form, fill it out, sign it and send it to BIDI with the required documents.
You can also get this form at any MVD office in New Mexico. No. The vehicle cannot be legally used until registration is restored. (Optional) Have your policy number handy. Yes. You must be able to provide proof of insurance to a peace commissioner if necessary or if you are involved in an accident. No. If your vehicle is driven or parked on a California road, road, or highway, it must be insured. Once you have purchased auto insurance for at least the minimum amounts listed above, ask your insurance company to provide your insurance information to the New Mexico IIDB at www.driveinsured.com or call (866) 891-0665.
Affidavit of Non-Use / Extrastate Insurance | Download PDF Have the last five digits of your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) handy. If, after transferring a vehicle in your name, you receive a notice asking you to prove your financial responsibility, you must provide DMV with proof of financial responsibility before the effective date of the suspension specified in the notice. You must provide MVD with one of the above documents before you can register your vehicle(s). If electronic insurance information is not stored, the ministry will inform you of the requirement to provide paper proof of financial responsibility.